University of Liverpool Graduate Entry Medicine 2013

Discussion in 'Liverpool Medical School' started by LozDubs, Sep 30, 2012.

1. LozDubs

LozDubs New Member

Hi,

I'm wondering if any of you can help (& reassure!) me. I want to apply for the four year graduate entry medicine at Liverpool for 2013, I am a Registered Nurse with a 2:1 BSc (Hons) in Adult Nursing, As & Bs at GCSE and a Triple Distinction in BTEC National Diploma Health & Social Care. I have lots of experience in healthcare and have worked (obviously) in collaboration with Drs, Surgeons, Anaesthetists (I currently work on a Surgical ward) so am aware of the realities of a career in medicine (this is not a decision I have taken lightly). What do you guys think my chances are of being considered?

Thanks!!

2. paysag

paysag Member

Hello,

I think Liverpool want a 'good 2:1' which they classify as 65% or above (it's meant I can't apply) - just in case that's important to your circumstance. Otherwise, go for it!!

I have recently put a post up about which medical schools look favourably on current HCPs, as I'm in a similar position (but a pharmacist).

Do Liverpool look at A-Levels for their GEM applicants I wonder? Your work experience will stand you in good stead I'm sure.

Good luck!

A

3. Happy As Jenface

Happy As Jenface New Member

Medicine and Surgery MBChB (Graduate Entry) - University of Liverpool

This breaks it down quite well :) they do requrie A leves at grade BBB(b). Must have Biology and Chemistry to A2 level. Whether BTEC can take the place of A levels I don't know. GCSE requirements are quite tough as well - you have to have 15 points from best 9 where A/A* = 2 and B = 1. You also must have experience of health care (which you both tick!)

Jenface x

4. fezfezed

fezfezed New Member

Sent off my application yesterday. Good luck everyone :)

5. phonebooth

phonebooth New Member

Anyone heard any news?
    So far just an acknowledgement

6. fezfezed

fezfezed New Member