Uk --> New Zealand

Kinkerz

Hey, not really sure whether this is the ideal place to post this message but here goes.
I'm a student in the UK doing A-levels hoping to get into medical school in the UK for 2009/2010 entry.
I'm just wondering what the process is in transfering from the UK to New Zealand once the medicine degree is complete? Do you wait until FY1 and FY2 are over? Or do you apply immediately after graduation?
Also, whether or not it is difficult gaining a competitive post like applying in the USA. Are there any exams that need to be passed to get a job?

Last edited:

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
I did a 6 month post in NZ after my PRHO job in the UK. The system is pretty similar. NZ has 2 year house surgeons (equivalent to FY1 and FY2).

All the advice is to apply after PRHO/FY as it used to be easier to get a random SHO post when you get back. I ended up doing anatomy demonstrating when I got back.

With run-through training and the MMC it migth be much more difficult to go back to the UK if you only do a year in NZ. If you plan to stay in NZ then you will need to do some post-graduate exams to continue practicing. Have a look at:

http://www.mcnz.org.nz/Registration/Howtobecomearegistereddoctor/tabid/71/Default.aspx

Pavan

I have offers for medicine at Manchester and Newcastle-upon-tyne in the uk. Does anyone know which of these 2 uni has a better reputation (esp in the Australia and New Zealand as I intend to work there later)?

millyhilton

wow this is exactly the same position as i am in, from the uk and thinking about maybe ending up in NZ, very tempted by Auckland, i am also planning to apply there for electives, does any one know whether sheffield, newcastle, leeds or leicester are regarded highly there? as I know there is a lot of competiton

Kinkerz