ssm case report

Discussion in 'Liverpool Medical School' started by Chang, Jul 25, 2009.

1. Chang

Chang New Member

howdy people,

my ssm6 is a case report, i've never done one before for ssm, always done reviews. so in terms of layout do you have to include a methods section like you do with the rest? as you wouldn't necessarily in a report for submission for a journal etc, but the mark scheme is generic for reports/reviews/audits etc... so as my honors grade is resting on this i want to get it right!

many thanks

2. PeteG

PeteG New Member

In the first instance you should discuss this with your SSM supervisor. I'd drop various hints about needing a distinction/merit or whatever just to let the supervisor know too!
    If I were you I'd plan your piece of work according to the SSM marking guidelines, after all that's the way it's set up. It doesn't matter if you do a lot of work and produce something really good, and the supervisor thinks it's good too, if it can't be marked appropriately. Don't forget that yours may be one of the SSMs picked for review, and deviations from the mark scheme might be penalised.
    I did an SSM in year 3 as per the supervisors instructions (in fact there were 3 of us doing similar stuff). We all worked really hard and were surprised when we all received basic passes - it became clear why when we looked at the way that the work had been marked. We appealed, but were told (quite rightly) that we didn't fulfill the marking criteria to get any mark higher than a pass.
    We shouldn't have listened to the supervisor.
    Do it by the book, and good luck!
    Oh yes, not getting honours, while a bit disappointing, won't be the end of the world, so don't give yourself a hard time if this happens.

3. Chang

Chang New Member