1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Places in London to do A-Level Chemistry / Biology

Discussion in 'Mature Students' started by adriantoll, Mar 8, 2010.

1. adriantoll

adriantoll New Member

Hi

I'm 37, and I'm going to apply to study a 4-year medical degree at a few places like UCL, King's, St. George's and Bristol (I haven't made a definite decision yet), some of which require A-Level Chemistry and Biology. I don't have either of those - I studied Maths, Physics & French in 1989 - 1991, with B-B-C results, have a 2.1 MA (Hons) in Psychology from Edinburgh (1996), and a 2.1 BA (Hons) in Sculpture (2006). So I'm looking around for places in London to do Chemistry and perhaps Biology in one year, as I'd like to apply this autumn for 2011 entry. I work freelance, and only two days a week, so have a reasonable amount of flexibility when it comes to work patterns.

So my question is this: does anyone know of any good places in London where I can study A-Level Chemistry and Biology in one year? I'd rather not study using distance learning as I don't learn best like that - but would be willing to do it if people are able to give solid recommendations and it's in fact the best option given what's available.

Also, I'm aware that this forum is for people who aren't already medical students, and I wonder whether I might be able to post these questions in another part of the forums so I also get responses from people who've already been through this process? But I'm new here and don't want to post inappropriately - I've had a look through the different areas, and can't see anywhere obvious. Do people who've been through the process occasionally dip into this area and answer questions out of the goodness of their heart? ;)

Thanks
    Adrian