1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pharmacist wishing to become a doctor

Discussion in 'Access to Medicine' started by steve76, Feb 25, 2008.

1. steve76

steve76 New Member

Hi everyone,

Im new to this forum, I am in my final year of doing a pharmacy degree and doing my pre registration year in hospital starting in august. I have enjoyed pharmacy but feel it is not enough for me, and from experience of clinics working with medical colleagues, I have decided that I would love the responsibility of planning treatment for the patient and not just managing their drug therapy, and would relish the diagnostic challenge. I will be 33 when I finish my pre reg year, I have got science A-levels at grade A (Chemistry and Biology) and History at grade A, and should get at least a 2:1. Do I have any chance of getting into medicine? does anyone know if pharmacists are any more or less likely to get into med school? I am really determined to become a doctor, and although I would ideally like to get onto an accelerated programme, I would also do the standard 5 year course if necessary.
    Thanks

Steven

2. jon1985

jon1985 New Member

Hi Steve,

I noticed noone had replied to your message, so thought I would get the ball rolling for you. I have a lower second class degree in Human Sciences and am looking into studying medicine and am by no means for only one in this situation. If you are due to get a 2.1, in Pharmacy, such great A level results in Chemistry and really want to study medicine and become a doctor there is no reason why you shouldn't!