Is medicine the career for me?

Discussion in 'Current Medical Students' started by PuzzledMedic, Nov 18, 2014.

1. PuzzledMedic

PuzzledMedic New Member

Hey everyone

I was planning to study medicine, but didn't get in. So I went onto a computer science course, however, I dropped out as I disliked the course and the maths too.I am now on a gap year and unsure whether medicine is the right course for me and whether I should re-apply.

Pros:

I enjoy biology in general, and to some extent interested in body anatomy
    I am better in biology than in maths
    I like to say I am a medical student

Cons :

Medicine course is 5 years, which I feel is long, and in addition to that there are training years.
    I at times feel squeamish (I noticed this in biology dissection lessons in High School).
    I suffer from stress and headaches.

Assuming the above information, I would like to ask you guys here, what course/degree you would advise me to do, as I am completely stranded not knowing what to do next,

Thanks

2. Martigan

Martigan Super Moderator

Hmm.

From you list up there I cant see why you want medicine other that to say you're a medical student. Which isn't a good reason.

What is it about medicine, which makes it *your* vocation?

3. MRJjohnson

MRJjohnson New Member

Doing medicine just to call yourself a medical student isn't really a valid reason! You have to enjoy the biology of it all which you say you do so good there. Medicine is 5 years, for some people its 6, if you can't hack the years then you won't be able to hack the job. As far as I am concerned, your university years are the best of you life, especially as a medical student as you get to see and do so much (without the liability), I see it as a positive :D Squeamishness is normal as an undergraduate, you get bored of it eventually, as per stress, as long as you are able to find ways to combat them they aren't a problem.