1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

interest in pathology

Discussion in 'Pathology' started by meep, Aug 18, 2007.

1. meep

meep New Member

hey..
    i am currently studying for my A levels and applying to university..
    i have always had an interest in pathology without understanding fully what it is and what a career within the speciality would include..
    i spent a week at a lab that dealt with a lot post mortem work and found it fascinating... but i was wondering, is the only route into it through studying medicine?
    i am pretty certain that is what i want to do (here's hoping i get in) but if i am unsucessful is there another degree that could lead to a similar sort of career?
    i have been told to do straight chemistry or something similar as opposed to a forensic science degree..

and also if i do get an interview for medicine why is it not a good idea to voice my interest in pathology?
    aaand.. what would you recommend reading to gain greater insight into what it involves?

i've asked a lot of questions i know..

2. kiya

kiya New Member

Hi meep!

To answer some of your questions:

The short answer is: No, you don't have to study medicine to be involved in pathology. However, you do have to study medicine if you want to be a histopathologist and get to report on specimens/do post mortems.

You can work in the mortuary as a mortuary technician. Salary for a trainee technician varies (looking at NHS jobs) from £12,577-£15,523 (band 2) to £16,853 - £20,261 (band 4) and no previous qualifications are required. Training posts like that offer you the chance to get an on-the-job Royal Institute of Public Health Certificate in Anatomical Pathology. Fully trained technician is band 5 (£19,683-£25,424).