Imperial College 5-year GEM

Discussion in 'Imperial College School of Medicine' started by mugatu, Jul 19, 2014.

1. mugatu

mugatu New Member

Imperial have now eradicated their 4-year programme and are adding an additional research year, just wanted to know how people feel about this. I'll be honest Imperial was my favourite option for 2016 entry, but now I doubt i'll be able to afford the expense nor have the will power to do an extra year that I dont want to do. TSR has some pretty good arguments on this, but wanted to hear from others.

2. Martigan

Martigan Super Moderator

Not quiet sure what arguments you are after.

Why they have made it all 6 years? - (more income for the uni.)
    Why you should do 6 years?
    Why you should afford it? Etc?

3. DrDani

DrDani Member

Imperial was one of my favourite choices too, I work as a healthcare in their trust too. I think it was one of my favourite choices mostly because of convience rather than the course, but now that they've change the course to 5 year plus changed the entrance exam, I'm not going to apply there.

I'm doing the UKCAT plus the gamsat, I don't i want to add a new entrance exam to the mix.

I think I was just applying to London schools first out of convience too, but after i researched each course, I came up with my final 4 :)

4. jcak

jcak New Member

I can see why they did it, Imperial is a money making machine, and very good at it. This is another aspect of that. They won't shrink as it'll still attract loads of applicants, they'll produce just as good calibre medics, maybe more so for the added time they have to learn (or maybe it'll just mean they learn the same amount and have less pressure?).