1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hong Kong Student in UK

Discussion in 'International Medical Students' started by Winnie, Apr 16, 2004.

1. Winnie

Winnie New Member

I am a sixth form student from HongKong

Med school in uk only admit a very small % of students from overseas. This is making me very nervous on the prospect of getting in any med school in UK.

Have few questions and hope someone out there could help?

1. I did my Hong Kong Certificate of Education in HK (equivalent to GCSE). I have 6B and 2C. Math/Chem/Phy with B, Biol. C. Does my score means I will get rejected right away if applying to med school list say over 4As at GCSE as minimum reuirement?
    2. Teachers at my UK schools believe I should have 4 As in my AS (math/Phy/Chem/Bio). Personally, I believe I will achieve 3As in my A2. will likely drop maths after AS. Will med school just look at my AS Level and neglect my HKCEE results?

Hope to hear from other International students who were in similar situation regardless if you were accepted or rejected by the univ.

:cry: :cry: :cry:

2. ash4

ash4 New Member

hi winnie
    im also from hong kong but i havent taken the HKCEE's...i did the standard ESF GCSE/A-Level degree. regarding ur questions, i would check with each med school wht they accept to be minimum requirements for gcse. it does seem difficult to get into a med school which requires a min no. of a's when u haf 6b's and 1 C, but remember, the hkcee's are NOT the same as gcse's...i know for a fact that the hkcee's are generally much more difficult than the gcse's that we take. getting an A grade (so i've heard) is much harder with HKCEE'S than with gcse's.