1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Honest answers and suggestions for a lost nurse...

Discussion in 'Mature Students' started by fozzy_68, Jul 17, 2017.

1. fozzy_68

fozzy_68 Member

Hello people,

It's been a pretty long time since I last posted on here; maybe 2011/2012. I'm hoping to get some suggestions from people in a similar position to myself or at least honest answers of whether I should stop being delusional.

I graduated with a higher education diploma in adult nursing in 2009. I didn't achieve amazing GCSEs or A-levels and my A-levels weren't science related. I initially wanted to be a paramedic but then decided to have an epileptic seizure in my college years, blowing that one right out the water :p

From then, I started to look into Medicine but realised I wasn't a strong candidate to apply and decided on nursing to maintain the healthcare theme.

After graduation, I studied an advanced clinical examination module at University and was advised to take it at level 7 (masters) as I'd likely do well. I did and scored 80%.

I applied for the 6 year course at George's at the time, got an interview but was then unsuccessful.
    Then the fees increased and it seemed I was never going to be able to afford medicine on a nurses wage, (GEM) wasn't/isn't an option it seems...

Anyway- fast forwards... I've studied several degree modules since to allow me to practice as an emergency nurse practitioner (the role of a junior doctor- minor illness/injuries). I have enough credits to make a degree but they're from different Unis and I'm struggling to clump them together to make up...

I still long for medicine. I am doing pretty well in nursing and have been offered further progression into an advanced practitioner (working towards the registrar rota) but literally EVERY day I am thinking about medicine and feeling so emotional. I don't want to look back in my 40's and regret.