Graduate entry medicine

Discussion in 'Oxford Medical School' started by In N Out, May 28, 2011.

1. In N Out

In N Out New Member

Hi everybody, Well as far as I know the requirement is a 2.i degree and a possible 700+ ukcat would be ideal. However does any1 know what proportion of grad applicants apply with a 2.i and what proportion with a 1st? As i would have thought they wus prefer to offer places to those with Firsts. Also how many grad applicant Oxford take on per year? And I was under the impression that a-level grades weren't taken into account but i have recently been told otherwise.
    The reason I ask is because my lecturers reckon no one from my university would stand a chance at getting into oxford even with a 2.i.

So if any1 could help? :D

2. scrubs52

scrubs52 New Member

I'm a current GE student at Oxford at you don't need a 1st. Lots of people got in with a 2.i.

3. In N Out

In N Out New Member

hey thnks for your reply.... can ask alil about ur background? did they look at ur a-levels/ gcse results too?

4. CZephyr

CZephyr New Member

"We accept that some excellent students are "late developers", and so we will not insist on excellent A-levels or an outstanding first degree result (though we would normally expect two science A-levels and a 2:i or better, or a GPA above 3.5)"
    Oxford Graduate-Entry Prospectus: 12 (Online prospectus)

5. In N Out

In N Out New Member

yes I saw this on the website but ofcourse this does not indicate how many applicant wid a 2.i actually make it to offers

6. CZephyr

CZephyr New Member

:)

I am fairly certain that usually, approximately 1/3 of the class graduated with a 2.i. But this needs serious verification.

7. In N Out

In N Out New Member

Thanks, I am contemplating applying but atm have no support. so have been trying to get in touch wid someone who is on the GEP course at oxford. Are u on the course?

8. CZephyr

CZephyr New Member