Graduate-entry 2012

Discussion in 'Oxford Medical School' started by django, Sep 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. django

django Member

Heya,
    I thought I would start this thread, seeing as it would probably pop up at some point. Maybe we can share stats and offer encouragement?

To kick off: I have a First class degree in Biology (but BCCC at A-level, eek). Two weeks of shadowing in a mental health hospital, one week shadowing a neurosurgeon, one week in a GP surgery. I've volunteered at a hospice for 9 months. I was part of my university's Biology society board (health and safety officer).

I've not yet done the UKCAT, am preparing at the moment and have it booked for September 31st.

My personal statement is coming along nicely, I think. Not finished yet though. And hopefully my reference will be really good as I worked well and closely with my referee.

Have I forgotten anything?

What is everyone else applying with? Would be great to share information.

And, good luck to all!

Django

:)

2. DrL

DrL New Member

Hi,

I am applying to Oxford graduate entry too. I have a first class degree in chemistry (and Django, I also have average a-levels, BBD). Also have PhD and an MSc in clinical biochemistry. I work in an NHS pathology lab at the moment and have done for about 3 years. I have sat in on a few clinics, visited the wards and observed a post-mortem examination. I have done loads of stuff volunteering for science events with kids etc. I have applied for St. John Ambulance to improve my 'caring role' experience but not sure if that is going to be sorted by the time applications are due in.

Done UKCAT - 692.5.

Tried to start my personal statement but finding it really difficult, Im rubbish at creative writing, it just sounds dull!

I think thats it....

Good luck everybody!

xx

3. django

django Member