1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graduate Applicants for 2011

Discussion in 'Oxford Medical School' started by allyboy, Apr 13, 2010.

1. allyboy

allyboy New Member

Hi everyone.

This thread was going to get started soon enough anyway, so I thought I'd do it meself.

Maybe anyone thinking of applying in October could put up their stats and we could drive each other mental rehashing each other's prospects of getting in. :) (Of course, if I bomb the UKCAT, I won't bother!)

I've got a 1st from Glasgow Uni in physics. I have some personal experience of the NHS as a patient, am doing weekly volunteering in a hospital in China, where I am living right now teaching English, and once a month volunteer with kids with autism and cerebral palsy. I'm currently setting up some hospital work experience for when I get back to the UK in August.

Okay, who's next?

2. snoogles

snoogles New Member

I guess I'm next :)

I have a 2:1 from a Canadian university (mix of biology and philosophy), and I'm currently in the first year of a biology Master's at a French school, aiming for a 1st. Hopefully I'll have an article submitted for publication by the time UCAS forms are due.

I've volunteered over a year at the long-term care facility of my local hospital. I've also shadowed a surgeon for one day, and will be doing at least 2 weeks of additional shadowing this summer.

I just decided to apply to med school in England in February, and it's all I've thought about since then. Spending time here and on The Student Room probably isn't helping with that...

Any ideas of who you're going to ask for recommendation letters?

3. allyboy

allyboy New Member

Nice one snoogles.

I know what you mean about the med application obsession! I'm almost always reading around the subject now.