1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GEM application, UKCAT score low, still a chance?

Discussion in 'UKCAT' started by Jam Man, Sep 20, 2013.

1. Jam Man

Jam Man New Member

Sorry of this is just another one of those threads, but I think some re-applicants might be able to comfort me with some advice over my dire situation, particularly those from grad applicants.

Just back from my UKCAT. In complete disorientation and disbelief over the score I've got.

VR 550
    VR 600
    AR 630
    DA 680
    Band 1
    Av - 615

I'm a grad student, and this pretty much puts an end to my application for this 2014 entry. This is my first attempt.

I found the exam fairly difficult - a lot more so than what people here were reporting. Especially the QR section, it seems it was a watered down version of the 600Q book. I ended up, like the VR section, guessing questions and didn't get a chance to come back to them. Even the DA section I was used to scoring 750+ in mock during relaxed conditions, I was confident I could bring this up to a high 800 in the real thing, no idea what happened.

Essentially, I'm pretty distraught. I prepped for over 2 months using all the possible resources, inc medify, emedica, most UKCAT books etc. I think this probably the cause of much of my upset - the fact I worked hard for this but it resulted in a catastrophe. I spent about 4-5 hours in the past 3 weeks getting ready for this big day.

I have a 2:1 and an MSc (merit). Over two year's experience as a HCA, clinical researching roles. Several placements etc.

The problem is that I'm getting old, I can't afford to linger about and turn my life into continual attempts at entry, but that doesn't mean I don't want to try again. Other people I know are getting somewhere in life, starting the next stage of their careers, and here's me now having to try again to start medical school that some did the first time round.