Curious!? Why do we smell when we inhale but not when we exhale?

rach4581

My husband just asked why we can only smell when we inhale! (dont ask he's a bit odd sometimes!) At first i started to say we do when we exhale but when i tried i cant! So i never noticed before but why is it that we only smell when inhaling? (stupid ass question i know but hey) its not important or relevent to anything but does anyone know the answer?

Fawaz

I think you can smell something when there are enough smell particles in the air without inhaling. Inhaling passes air over your smell receptors in your nose. Exhaling is expelling air from your lungs, and i don't think your lungs smell of anything.

Well that's my guess anyway ;)

rach4581

its odd isnt it? hehe sorry for the complete randomness of the question my husband has a habit of asking me things like this (like i know! im not a doctor, yet!) It never occured to me before!! i would like to know the answer. maybe it has to do with the direction our smell receptors face in our noses? hmmm

Varied A

It's been a while since I studied any of this, but I think (someone correct me if I'm wrong), the chemicals stimulating the olfactory epithelium become trapped in the mucus lining on inhalation, therefore none make it down into the lungs. Because of that, there are none (or very few) make it down into the lungs and then back up again.

racheljane

You can certainly 'taste' a good pungent belch but the gas being forced back up presumably doesn't go out through the nose... tell him to eat a pack of spring onions and down a litre of coke and then go keep his mouth tight shut for an hour... see if that makes a difference ;)

yeliab_cram