Carmel College Year 0 2011 - advice/anyone else applying this year?

Discussion in 'Liverpool Medical School' started by themedicformerlyknownas, Jan 7, 2011.

1. themedicformerlyknownas

Hello!

I am hoping to apply for Year Zero this year.

Does anyone have any advice or experiences to share? Particularly re. personal statements, work experience and interviews! (I've had a look at the existing threads).

Also looking out for anyone else applying this year?

A bit about me:

I am currently a university lecturer in a practical arts subject. I have been considering retraining for some years, and have decided to make the leap before it really is too late (I'm in my late 30s, erk).

I am frantically trying to organise some work experience so I can make my application for April. I do, however, have lots of experience (over a decade!) of working in hospices/hospitals and with people with disabilities/older people through my work as an artist. I would prefer to have a stronger work experience portfolio but there seems no sign of the ELQ ruling being reversed for 2012 entry - finding some £37.5K in fees up-front? Nice! :(

My profile:
    Lifelong interest in Biology (much of my childhood spent in the Natural History Museum!)
    11 O-levels and GCSEs, all at grade A (including a double Science thingummy and Additional Maths! - will these finally be useful?!)
    BA (Hons) degree (arts subject), First Class
    MA (digital arts subject)

:D :D

2. Steh

Steh New Member

I was thinking about applying this year, but dont think i will of re-gained my health fully enough in time. So think im going to sort some work experience out over the next year and apply the year after.

I know this doesnt help much :p but im also interested in the questons you asked. Best of luck to you :)

3. Martigan

Martigan Super Moderator