Cardiff as a graduate?

Discussion in 'Cardiff Medical School' started by Kyl, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Kyl

Kyl New Member

Hey guys,
    I'm looking at Cardiff medicine 2013 entry. Can anybody advise me on the entry requirements? I have a degree already - would I need to meet the undergrad entry requirements or do Cardiff look for another entry exam (eg GAMSAT)

I have ok a levels and GCSEs but they don't quite meet those the uni expect (ABBb and 2A*7AB). I have no science A Levels either but am happy to work on these this year. Would this suffice do you think?

Also funding - would I be eligible to apply for the Cardiff bursary as I currently live in one of their "Communities First" areas? Hopefully if I can apply it'll make university a little more affordable lol

Thank you in advance for your help x

2. omlette

omlette New Member

Hi Kyl, don't have the answers to all your questions but hopefully what I've gleaned from applying there before can help.

Entrance exam wise it's UKCAT, not GAMSAT. Not quite sure how they use it (when I applied for 2010 entry it was used to distinguish between applicants with similar scores, not sure if this is pre or post interview though). They score graduate applicants on the same lines that they score school leavers - everyone's GCSEs, A levels etc. are given a score according to grade and then applicants are ranked according to the academics score and the top are selected for interview. No bonus points for degrees unfortunately. I can't remember whether they specify science subjects, check their admissions policy on their website.

To give you an idea, I got rejected straight off because my academics weren't good enough. I've got 2 B's, 6 A's and 1 A* at GCSE, B in AS level english, AAB at A level (inc. bio + chem) and a 2:1. In this day and age where every school leaver has a billion A* grades to their name us oldies can't always compete :)

3. BeforeIGetTooOld

BeforeIGetTooOld New Member