1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone offer me any guidance on what route to try?

Discussion in 'Mature Students' started by onedaydoc, Aug 19, 2016.

1. onedaydoc

onedaydoc New Member

Hi,
    I really need help with this. As I am just going around in circles. I am a year 1 undergraduate with the Open University on the BSc Psychology degree.

Medicine is the goal! So I don't know if I should swap my degree pathway for the Open University BSc Health Science or stick with the BSc Psychology? Liverpool are looking for biomed/health science degree. I have asked them if the OU Health Science would qualify but no reply (as of yet)

Next September I am taking 5 GCSE's plus I will have two years volunteer experience to add to my application. (If two years will be enough. As some have been working for years in the NHS etc)

So, do I apply for an access course after the GCSE's with claiming a diploma in Psychology or stick with the full Psychology degree then access? Or swap degree to the Health Science to apply to Liverpool direct .. I have no idea what to do. I am a mature student (27) plus I do have a large gap in my working career due to raising a young family. I feel by taking diffent routes I am cutting other doors off to get in.

2. Martigan

Martigan Super Moderator

Are you set on Liverpool, it just set on medicine?

3. onedaydoc

onedaydoc New Member

Hi,
    Sorry for the late reply. Medicine in general! However, due to having a young family. It would ideally have to be Liverpool or Manchester.

4. Martigan

Martigan Super Moderator

I can appreciate your constraints as also have family and it limited my geography.

You have to decide the balance. I know a few mums who lived away from their kids during the week to do medical school. It's hard, but it depends on you commitment.