1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Chance with a 3rd Class degree

Discussion in 'Mature Students' started by Death Note, Jun 19, 2013.

1. Death Note

Death Note New Member

Hi guys, I just found out that i got a 3rd class degree in a Biomedical Sciences degree. Partly my own fault and partly due to family problems. I know excuses won't help now. Gutted, disappointed and feeling utterly shattered. Is my dream of medicine over? What are my options now?

I've heard about Open University and using my degree to get a another Bsc and boosting it to at least a 2.1 but I'm not too informed about this, if someone could enlighten me? Will this take another 3 years? And will universities accept this?

Also some GAMSAT universities would accept a 3rd with a Masters(SGUL?), Again I'm not too sure.

I've saved up some money through my bursaries and grants as well as work. So I think I could afford both an MSc as well as a Open university course.

Again, Am I being stupid in still hoping to do a medical degree? Is there anyone else in my position that has done this? Sorry for the long post.

Any advice will be welcome.

2. Zedd

Zedd Member

I don't think any of the graduate or normal MBChB programmes allow students with a third. Even the GAMSAT ones seem to require a 2.2 or 2.1 now (someone can correct that if I'm wrong).

Out of interest, what MSc. would you be able to get into?

3. ceih

ceih New Member

No course will accept a 3rd by itself, but some places will accept a Masters level qualification as a replacement. However, this isn't usually listed on their websites, so you're going to have to do some donkey work and call the schools you are interested in.

Replacing with an OU degree might also be possible, but again, you'd need to check with schools directly as to this.