1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anxiety relief - advice needed

Discussion in 'Medical School Interviews' started by ceciafb, Oct 23, 2014.

1. ceciafb

ceciafb New Member

This may be a bit premature of me (as I have just sent my application off) but do any med students/previous applicants have some advice for lowering your anxiety before a med school interview? I want to start working on it now during my early prep because it is quite a big problem for me.

I've had a lot of experience in healthcare and I know I'm really good at communicating with patients and healthcare professionals, including really senior ones and in high-pressured situations, so I'd like to think its not a case of 'the interview weeds out those who cant handle it' - I'm also quite chilled out about exams, but the thought of a medicine interview makes me so anxious, partly because I want it so much.

Unfortunately it is a necessary evil for med school ha! Its just very frustrating because I know I'm a people person and reasonably intelligent, but as soon as I'm in that specific interview environment I get horribly nervous to the point where I stutter and make myself look like a fool.

I'm applying to loads of jobs in the nhs and hoping I get some interviews, then maybe I can use these as experience to better myself..I'm also planning on setting up some mock interviews with academic staff.. but I don't know about what else to do! The thought that I would fall at this hurdle just due to nerves is really horrible and feeding my anxiety even more!

I know that it is something that a lot of us struggle with, some (far) more than others, but does anyone have any tips, preferably from personal experience, about relieving anxiety in the time leading up to an interview, and particularly on the day?