Am I unlikely to get an interview with these scores?

Discussion in 'Leicester Medical School' started by eleanor_rigby, Jun 2, 2014.

1. eleanor_rigby

eleanor_rigby New Member

Hi there,

I have read the scoring of applications for GEM applicants for 2014. I am worried there is no point for me to apply or even sit the UKCAT because of my poor scores:

I got 10 GCSE's, 5 Bs and 5 Cs (English Lit&Lang and Maths = B, Science =CC). This gives me a score of 0 for section 1.1.

For my A Levels I did all arts subjects and scored ABB, which gives me a score of 3 for section 1.2.0.

For my degree I did a BSc in Psychology and got a 2.1. I don't know if they count this subject as a science or not. I also have an MSc in Health Psychology but it doesn't seem to take this into account anywhere. I would therefore either score 4 or 2 in section 1.3 (depending on whether they view Psychology as a science subject).

I have 3 years of paid experience as a healthcare assistant and research assistant but they don't appear to score this in the preliminary stages.

I haven't sat the UKCAT yet and I am wondering is there any point? Even if I scored top marks of 10 in the UKCAT section I would still only have a score of 17/25... or possibly 15/25 depending on how they score my degree. Also there's no way I will score 10/10 for the UKCAT... Am I wasting my time? They won't even read my personal statement with these scores I am guessing??

2. NeoJazz

NeoJazz New Member

It's best to sit the UKCAT first and then to apply accordingly.

Is Leicester your only option? Kings, Warwick?

Also have you considered the GAMSAT?

I scored 17/25 and was not offered an interview.
    You'll need a 750 ukcat to stand any chance of an interview.

3. eleanor_rigby

eleanor_rigby New Member

Thanks for your reply. I am sure Kings would not consider me. I was looking at Newcastle would I stand much chance with them? I haven't looked at Warwick I thought they wouldn't accept me either.