1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ADIVE? Should I drop higher art?

Discussion in 'Scottish Highers' started by hbanana, Mar 21, 2011.

1. hbanana

hbanana New Member

Hi- I need advice!

I've been offered 2 unconditionals to study medicine. At the moment I am studying AH chemistry and biology along with higher art and design and a community sports leadership award.

There's 2 weeks left till we will be finished with our art units and I have only just started my chemistry investigation (Mid March!) If I wasn't to do much for my art I would finish with a B. The problem is it's 5 hours a week I could be using more productively for my AH's which I want to do really well in.

I've been seriously thinking about dropping art. My reason for hesitating is because I'm wondering whether it will benefit me in the future when applying for jobs as a medical graduate!?!?!?!?

What is you're advice? Will a B in higher art put me about fellow medical graduates with just sciences etc? Will it reduce competition?

Thank you,
    A confused Hannah.

2. hbanana

hbanana New Member

sorry I meant 'abouve' fellow medical students. I know that recently there's been increased competition for FY places and some people have mentioned it may demonstrate how well rounded I am a a person. . . ?

3. Hilldo

Hilldo New Member

I think it'll depend. Saying that a Higher in a creative subject would put you above them might be a bit much - a higher is still an academic acheivement, after all. If you were to take your interest in art to university with you, though, maybe join a society or something, and make it something you do actively as an extra-curricular, I'd think it would be a definite edge. That said, you don't necessarily need the higher to do that. How are the other units of Chemistry going?

4. hbanana

hbanana New Member