Access to Medicine works!

Mamba

Hello,

I attended the Manchester Access to Medicine course. I had nothing at all going for me when I started, just the desire to become a doctor any way possible.

It is a long road... From 2006 (A2M application) to 2014 (qualifying).

I want to reiterate that not only does A2M work, it does not hold you back. I'm now an A&E registrar and an Honorary Clinical Lecturer at the very same medical school I attended. Going full circle, now teaching to the auditorium from the other side of the desk. I am now in my second year of another degree, a Masters in Medical Education. I look after (deputy lead) nearly 10% of the medical degree curriculum, covering A&E and ITU and Acute Medicine..... all the cool stuff.

When I first started this journey, aged 26, I had no money, I was actually homeless and felt very desperate. Oh yes, and check out my earlier posts, I couldn't spell or write to save my life! This is all very achievable for those that want it and work for it hard enough. There were elements of good fortune and I will always be grateful to those people that decided to give me a chance. It's funny how 'lucky' you get, the harder you work.

I remember how it felt, to be in A2M wondering where I would be in 10 years time. Will this actually work? I remember where I was sitting in the classroom whilst I worried about the answer.

Well its 13 years time....

I'm an A&E registrar.
I'm an honorary clinical lecturer.
I'm now on to my second degree in Medical Education.
I now teach at my Medical School.
I am in an amazing relationship with my nurse girlfriend, a ward sister.
I live by the sea in a glass fronted apartment.
I finally drive an Audi!
I finally ride a Harley Davidson!